Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, many children usually spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Admittedly, smartphones have many benefits, but using smartphones too much brings more negative effects than positive effects.

On the one hand, smartphones bring some advantages to children. Firstly, they can contact anyone, like parents and friends, easily. children can call friends anywhere they want, do not be nervous about the distance. Bad weather, long distance, the permission of parents are not essential. Therefore, children always use smartphones to contact friends. Secondly, the study of children can be easier than before if they use smartphones to learn. they can research many documentaries about the subject they learn in school like math, history, geography, chemistry. they can learn many skills the school doesn't teach such as editing, presentation, cooking,making up.children do not need to go to the library to find a book they want, where usually they do not find the thing they need.

On the other hand, smartphones have many negative effects on children.Undeniable, contents on phones are very attractive,but many harmful content can make children depend on the smartphones such as social media, game, film, comic if they do not use these effectively. And if they become addicted, they will spend more time of day using the phone,and do not have time for study, playing sports, or hanging out with friends. Then, score decrease, health decrease, and they have to suffer obesity. Besides, In internet, there are many toxic information can make the their cognition change negatively such as violence, drug.For instance, if children watch a violent video too much everyday, they tend to be more violent.Therefore, Controlling the content children watch is essential for the growing of them.

In conclusion, smartphones have both advantages and disadvantages.if we use these effectively, it will be a useful tutor for children. but if we abuse smartphones, it can cause many terrible consequences.