Some children take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In this contemporary society, the vast majority of high school students decide to take a gap year to other nations before attending tertiary schools. In addition, it is a great opportunity to broaden kids’ horizon about different aspects around the world. Although many people consider this trend as a drawback, I still believe the advatanges outweigh the negative impacts.

On the other hand, there are many inevitable setbacks related to the decision to take a year off. To begin with, students may suffer from a sense of loneliness. In addition, taking a gap year means attending colleges later than peers. Hence, children may find it really difficult to strike up new relationships with friends who are younger than them. Moreover, it is widely believed that certain knowledge would be wiped out of children’s brain after leaving school for a long period of time. For instance, compared to students who spend several hours dealing with math problems, older people struggle to find solutions more as they totally forget about the methods. Consequently, spending time revising the rudimental knowledge is an inevitable process, wasting time of young people.

Despite the drawbacks described above, I’m of the opinion that having a year off to travel or work bring about impressive merits. Firstly, children have more chances to learn how to live independently from their parents. Additionally, if kids adapt to new environment to find part-time jobs, they may be obligated to find personal expenditure to spend on a daily basis .As a result, while many children find it complicated to separate from their family’s sponsorship when they grow up, these people tend to successfully deal with this problem. Moreover, leaving education help teenagers eradicate all the depressed moments and anxiety at schools. In addition, many children in this contemporary face with higher risks of mental problems including depression or anxiety as they are overexposed to study.However, taking a year off to travel can reset one’s mind and help them become more conscious in making decisions in the future.

Taking everything into consideration, although problems related to one year gap before entering universities can be disadvantageous in some aspects, I believe that the advantages outweight the drawbacks due to many reasons related to future.