The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous governments’ expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. Do you disagree or agree.?

These days, the conservation of old buildings is considered to charge an exorbitant budget from government. Hence, many people consider that this expenditure should be allocated more in housing and road systems. Although i cannot deny that living accommodation and roads are worth-investing , the renovation of ancient constructions is also an pressing issue which must be addressed.

On the other hand, I understand the reasons why modern citizens prefer to allocate their budget on furnishing houses and developing roads. Firstly, inhabitants have more chance to live in accommodation with comfortable atmosphere and modern layout. For instance, it is HCM city that government begins to focus more on enhancing living facilities for citizens. Moreover, gratifying the demand of drivers in better road design is also an important matter. The more the population increases, the more the private vehicles are driven in the street. As a result, if government do not pay attention to expand road systems and make new ways to connect different surrounding cities, traffic jam may come as an expense and cause many setbacks.

However, I still believe that the restoration of many old builidings such as museums and exhibitions is worth-paying and should be priotised in many factors. To begin with, the existence of these constructions can strengthen nation’s sense of identity. Compared to modern constructions such as sky scrappers, ancient heritages display more unique architectural design of a certain period in the past. For instance, Independence Palace, which is one of the most popular features of ancient period, reappear the living accommodation of Presiden in the past. Hence, if the authority fails to protect those historical relics, it is a great loss for the preservation of national features. Secondly, such these historical heritages contribute to the boom of tourism. Every year, there are thousands of foreign visitors come and appreciate the beauty of national glamor.This case is often seen in Notre Dame Cathedral, which is the well-known public attration in Vietnam. As a result, such a huge increase in tourism can also attribute to the massive profit for the country’s economy.

Take everything into consideration, I agree that national budget can be allocated to improve modern facilities for residents. However, since historical heritages bring numerous merits for the nation, governments should also focus on preserving those places.