In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

In many parts of the world urban dwellers have increasingly suffered from traffic congestion over the last few decades. This essay is going to analyze the potential reasons and propose measures to address this congestion issue.

There are a range of factors associated with the high rate of traffic jams. Firstly, in some undeveloped countries, the roads are not designed with sufficient space to accommodate all types of vehicles ,or there are no subway systems serving as an alternative one that dwellers can opt for. As a result, there might be too much traffic simultaneously commuting on the streets , which is likely to cause gridlocked situations. Secondly, citizens use their own private vehicles, instead of public ones due to the bad quality service in public transport. For example, Vietnamese passengers usually face poor ventilation or risks of pocket lifting on buses. Thirdly, there is a lack of appropriate tax regime imposed on certain means of transport. For instance, cars are supposed to be the key determinant of traffic jams due to its size and shape. However, the governments might overlook this and have not proposed any changes with regard to the excessive use of private cars on the streets, especially during peak hours.

Several measures should be taken by the governments to tackle congestion problems. The first solution is to invest in improvement of road infrastructure. In detail, the roads should be widened or upgraded with extended underway or expressway systems so that a large number of transport can move at ease even in rush hours. The second step that can be taken by the government is allocating more funds on enhancing the quality of public transport services . There should be a higher level of security on public transport and circulation of fresh air should be focused on and enhanced. Last but not least, the government should levy a tax on private cars used in rush hours in order to deter the exceeding flow of private cars which can cause obstruction on the street.

In conclusion, some underlying factors for traffic jams in cities and towns are weakness of infrastructure and public transport system and the absence of car taxing. Several aforementioned measures have been suggested to combat this traffic issue.