Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some metropolises, vehicles releasing an immense amount of noxious gases such as private cars, trucks and motorcycles are prohibited on a particular day called vehicle-free day. These days, the government nudges the citizens towards using public transformation, namely buses, taxis and the metro. Although there exist some drawbacks, the merits overshadow in light of rational reasons.

Admittedly, setting aside a few particular days banning private vehicles can lead to various optimistic impacts.

First, boosting the use of public transports can save the environment from being damaged. Perceptibly, public transports emit less or no greenhouse gases in comparison with the private ones which disseminates a significant amount of toxic gases. Second, using public transportations can have an auspicious effect on city dwellers’ finances. Virtually, the public transports are likely to have financial-supported funds to operate. Therefore, it only cost the users a little fees compared with the prohibitively expensive expenses for fossil fuel for private vehicles.

In contrast, these transportations also have few dislocations for the travellers. To be more accurate, it does not bring flexibility for the users. This can be explained by the fact that when using public transportation, people have to virtually check their watch to ensure the schedules and journey time. Worsely, for some people whose jobs have to be on time such as surgeon doctors, waiting for public transportation could waste their precious time which can be utilized for saving human death.

To sum up, residents are not allowed to use private vehicles on vehicle-free days. This movement has numerous advantages albeit few drawbacks