Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis, and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Having a vehicle free day is on trend now in many cities, people are advised not to use private vehicles and instead are encouraged to travel in public transport. In my contention, this has a lot of advantages and it outweighs the disadvantages. This essay will discuss the advantages of public transport on vehicle-free days.

Firstly, air pollution and noise pollution is the contribution of the increased number of vehicles. People rely on public transport has declined drastically due to poor maintenance. For example, It is evident that in major cities pollution level are higher than the normal because of the number of vehicles on the road. Moreover, the death toll on roads are increasing due to this so, a full ban on public transport will help people to realize the importance of using public transport to commute. People will not use their vehicles not only in ban days but also on other days if the government take fruitful action and implement strong rules for transportation.

Secondly, using public transport will save money and natural resources also. For instance, if we travel on a public bus the ticket price will be comparatively low than the petrol price though this, at the same time, currency, as well as fuel, can be saved. Hence, by encouraging people to commute by common transport will prove beneficial in the long run. To embark on, why people are relying on the private vehicle? The answer is because of its convenience and comfort. If the authorities launch buses and train which can be used by all type of people it will improve the number of people using it besides, the frequency, as well as coverage, also matters.

To conclude, public awareness is the ultimate aim of the private ban and this will force people to use the alternate available, hence, will realize the importance of using fewer vehicles on road.