Some companies sponsor sport as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

In these days and ages, sponsorship in sports, as a method of advertising, is becoming more and more common. This change leads to a controversy that some people believe that this kind of advertising has a big deal of benefits for sports, whereas others think it has a few drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is no doubt that sponsorship in sports has several advantages. First of all, there are a lot of large tournaments around the world, such as the FIFA World Cup or Olympics, costing millions of dollars that most organizers are incapable to deal with. Therefore, some big companies will take this cost as sponsors in return by scaling their reputation. Without sponsors, organizations can only rely on the price of spectators’ tickets, as a result, the tickets are extremely precious and nobody affords to buy the one, which can lead the organizations to face bankruptcy. Besides, the sponsors also supply to young teams that create opportunities for children to nurture their passion for sports.

On the other hand, some sponsor companies seem to be only focused on their benefit and profit, which make harmful effects on sports. Some people complain about the contents of a number of advertisements are not suitable for the young generation, one of the main viewers of sports, such as alcohol and tobacco. To illustrate, when they are enjoying a match, then a harmful advertisement takes place, they are more likely to continuously enjoy the one. After that, they see it interesting and then try these poisonous things, imaging how many people watch a World Cup match.

In conclusion, although I believe that the advantages of advertising sponsorship for sports overwhelm its disadvantages, event organizations should consider what type of advertisement could be on screen.