Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In the age and day, there is an increasing number of old workers encouraged to continue working at any age. Despite some oblivious drawbacks, I think lots of benefits will be achieved.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of this trend. The first reason is that old people find it difficult to get used to coping with the change in technology. In the other word, it takes more time for them to keep up with new software and skills than young people. In addition, there is no sense of competition in older workers. This means that the absence of spirit and competition can lead to lower productivities in employers.

On the flip sides, I still believe that old generation can see to different works in their companies. First and foremost, they are more skilled and experienced than the young which can help them to have better communication skills both in oral and written. For this reason they can be excellent as trainers, mentors or coaches. What is more, they can be cost effective in some sides because they are usually satisfied with their occupations. As a result, they show up to work and do not jump job like young workers which can help company save money.

Another reason is that old people have a great ethic. For example, they are apt to come earlier, willing to stay late if they are on the go. Furthermore, they are experienced to know what to focus on or ignore so they can provide a calming influence for the young.

All in all, there is no doubt that letting old employees work over legal age has some disadvantages. However, in my opinion, there are more even significant benefits of this trend.