Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, most countries show a great concern related to the problems of crime. It is acknowledged that these days, the proportion of crime is increasing day by day. Coming to this issue, it is thought that having more police on the street is the only way to decline the level of crime. From my perspective, I am totally convinced by this statement.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this view is that, there are several kinds of crime which can only be eliminated by force, especially terrorism. To cite an example, statistics in this field indicates that over the past decade, terrorists killed an average of 21,000 people worldwide each year. Therefore, it is impossible for normal people to constrain this type of crimes. To put it in another way, only police can deal with this sort of crimes. As a result, it is undisputed that more police needed in the street to prevent crimes.

In addition, one explanation to support this view is that only police are able to deter those intending to commit crimes. To rephrase, they have the rights to censor the information or the items belonging to owners. To vindicate, by measuring the alcohol concentration and inspecting the private vehicles, police hindered a large number of illicit drug transactions. As this example reveals, it cannot be denied that adding more police in the streets can decrease the percentage of crimes in this day and age by scrutinizing citizens.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that to solve the growing rate of crimes, having more police on the streets is a viable solution. As a consequence of this, I wholly agree with this statement.