Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is argued by many that accelerating crime rates can be significantly reduced if the number of police on the streets is enhanced. From my own perspective, I partly disagree with this sentiment because sweeping education is validated to be more efficacious than increasing police force.

On the one hand, it is irrefutably that expanded army is exceedingly effective in controlling and curbing immoral behaviors as, apparently enough, since time immemorial police have been the pivotal force in combating criminal. Therefore, whereby reinforcing number of officers can considerably deter people from committing crime as the chances of getting caught red-handed is presumably higher. For example, the government of Belgium has strengthened the army force to counter terrorism.

On the other hand, notwithstanding acknowledge efficacy of police in contending with law infraction, inculcating social responsibility via educating is sufficiently obvious to be much more effectual. It is commonsensical knowledge that human’s demeanor is regulated by deep-rooted notions about the surrounding environment. To illustrate, if a child was early taught that lying is unacceptable, that kid will not as likely to tell a lie as who wasn’t. Likewise, via massive-scaled campaigns organized at national level to propagate opposition towards law infringement, such heinous crime will be greatly decreased. For instance, the Switzerland has almost no army and still it has negligible criminal activity due to the educated populace.

In conclusion, despite positive impact of enhancing police force, this movement pales into comparison with educating inhabitants about law and criminal sanctions. Government should, therefore join hand with academic institutions and local authorities to further disseminate legislation.