Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rate. some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The increase in crime rate has been becoming a troubling issue in the majority of countries. Although some believe that seeing more police on the beat is the most efficient way to tackle this problem, by considering all aspects of this issue, I personally disagree with this notion because of several grounds, which I will examine in detail in the forthcoming paragraphs.

Some people, especially families which have children or juveniles at home, say that they would have a sense of security if they saw the street being fully policed. According to their idea, police are responsible for monitoring and controlling gangs in order to protect their youngsters once they want to showcase their autonomy and independence only under peer pressure. In fact, police have the responsibility to bring security outside the home and parents do so inside.

However, in my opinion, the increasing rate of crime is not just because of the increase in delinquencies. Based on the statistics published by the International Police in 2019, cyber crime takes a prominent part in the crime rate. In other words, today, criminals might be the chic people we can see regularly on the streets, but they are originally the managers of fraudulent companies which sell counterfeit products on the Internet or those who launder money online. Therefore, I think improving the number of police officers on the street, who are not capable of recognizing or tracking undetectable law-breakers, would not be the most helpful solution to reduce the crime rate.

In conclusion, contrary to some views arguing that the best way to shrink the criminal incidents in society is allocating more police officers on the street, my notion is: hardly could it be the best solution. As the rate of cyber crime, such as phishing or hacking with the aim of holding people for ransom, has been recently rising, employing cyber police would be the most effective way to mitigate this issue.