Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees.

Why are these laws introduced?

Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

In recent years, with the growing proportion of staff who succumb to fatigue due to the overwhelmed workload, many countries have imposed a ban on working hours. I believe this is a positive change to tackle the problem for some reasons.

Granted, the vast majority of employees are those who are in the middle or poor class, in an attempt to lessen the financial burden for their family, overtime work is considered to be an effective way to get recognition and awards from the boss. Reflecting the competence of and attitude towards their position, by showing the effort paid to their job, they could also be offered a greater promotion in the corporate ladder as well as gain trust from the colleagues. Both of which are desirable and essential to staff’s development. After all, the critical baseline at work is excellence, productivity is the key to success in the demanding employment market and each individual has to exert their maximum potential to meet it.

Regardless of some shortcomings when placing restriction on the timezone at workplaces, I contend that this is a positive development for the overall labor force and their families. To begin with, workers whose children are in formative years often struggle to establish a reasonable balance between work schedule and domestic relationships. When policies are implemented, they are able to spend more time with their families and educate the offspring, whose parental guidance is essential to the growth of cognition and preconception. Furthermore, it also engenders equal opportunities for the workers to compete against each other and trigger their work efficiency to the highest level at the workplaces since there is no chance for them to gain competitive edge after the office door is closed.

To conclude, the idea of limiting working hours is beneficial in various ways as long as it is taken under the circumstances in which the employees’ right is safeguarded and enterprises' operation and performance is ensured.