Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To

what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Recently, instead of producing their own food, some nations import a significant amount of food commodities from other countries. Personally, I believe that this tendency benefit the economy of each country as well as provide their citizens with more diverse kinds of food and drinks.

To commence with, people from each nation have the chance to try different cuisine from other parts of the world owing to the abundant source of imported food commodities.

Eastern people can create new dishes with Western ingredients, and in Vietnam, beer steamed fish is a great example. Domestic chefs can use foreign ingredients combined with their creativity to contribute to the magnificent cuisine of their country and if their masterpieces are good enough to reach to worldwide food lover, it can attract visitors from other countries to come to have a taste which boost tourism.

Besides the economic merits from tourism that this tendency has, when countries import something from foreign nations, they also export their specialties to those nations which means there is economy exchange amongst them. This is partially because they want to foster globalization and to keep good relationship with each other. For instance, while Vietnam import fruits from America, they export rice to the United State in exchange. Thanks to this, developing countries can greatly boost their economy which means better living condition for the citizens.

In conclusion, I contend that the tendency of countries importing food commodities from foreign nations has merits such as diverse range of food for the people in every country and economic development in developing countries. Governments should balance between importing foreign food and enhancing domestic cuisine.