In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Obesity is a growing concern in many parts of world due to the excessive intake of fast food and that can result in various fatal diseases such as cancer, tumor and respiratory diseases. Imposing junk food tax has two sides of influence onto people’s preferences on foods, which can be able to maintain one’s healthy diet program by maintaining healthy eating habits, whereas this side effect is failure of programs. In my perspective, while I understand the fatal potential risk for continuous junk food intake, the stimulus tastes. Therefore, the wise consumption should be recommended.

To begin with, the junk food tax can immediately reduce the junk food consumption. After the imposing of tax on fast food, the average price of foods will be increased and this price would be similar to other meals that are available at a restaurant. Since fast foods have insufficient nutrient values, people could obtain more valuable and rich substances of nutrient foods from other restaurants so they can manage their eating habit. Improvised taxation systems on fast food will lead a less eating habit due to the sustain satisfaction. Thus, it can reduce the junk food consumption.

In contrast, fast food which influences on human’s health is leading to fatal maladies because inclusive of chemical substances within, thus some experts claim that such food should be taxed highly. The accumulation of such high carbohydrate and cholesterol substances within one’s body is unknown but the past studies have discovered that this lead to several chronic, respiratory and cell destruction. For example, the National Centre for Health Statistics stated that, the percentage of Americans with chronic illness jumped from 7% to 13% in just 9 years during the fast foods being popular. Also, food allergies in children rose from 2.4% to 5.1% from 1997 to 2011. From this research, we can conclude that the junk foods can directly effect on human’s health.’

In conclusion, fast foods have several benefits related to cheaper price and convenient availability despite the critical health issues. Therefore, the amount of intake of fast foods should be monitored and watched closely to prevent any other potential health risks.