In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Refusing to job applications due to age criteria is regarded as illicit as a part of the law in some countries. From my perspective, despite the undesirable effects that come from this regulation, I think that this development would be beneficial to both individuals and society as well.

It is undeniable that this law would be unfavorable for the new generations and companies. Firstly, specific jobs, like construction workers, electricians, firefighter are examples of jobs that require specialized skills and physical conditions, which are suitable for only some age groups. Being involved in such jobs would take away students’ time for studying, or eventually labor injuries for them. Secondly, although skills and knowledge increase as people get older, the elderly do not seem able to achieve such efficiency, which can result in losing profits for the employers or companies themselves.

However, apart from the concerns mentioned above, prohibiting age discrimination in job applicants would then offer a myriad of advantages. The law would change the status of age discrimination in jobs, where employers can see what younger and older workers can do. Thus, prominent children with brilliant skills and knowledge that they acquired from reading books, or from the Internet would be able to show off themselves in the labor market, where they can widen their horizons and experience real life. Moreover, the regulation would also prevent some employers that refuse applications based on age assumption, where they would have to consider other requirements such as qualifications or working capacity. In this way, more people would be employed, allowing the society to prosper.

In conclusion, forbidding employers’ rejection of job inquiries due to candidates not being in required age groups would have positive effects on both people and the whole community although it would have some adverse effects.