In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the rate of individuals who choose to live a lonely life is increasing significantly in some nations. While this growing trend is disadvantageous to some extent, I would argue that it is positive progress.

There are several reasons why living in a one-person household can be seen as a negative aspect to individuals. Firstly, people living alone will have to make their own cost of living and pay numerous bills. For example, they must be bear the weight of household expenditures, travel, meals, electricity; therefore increasing the feelings of pressure, worry and isolation, or even they might become a financial burden to their family. Secondly, living alone will result in loneliness and people might miss out on the emotional support from their family or flatmates. Instead, staying with another person will not lead to the adverse consequences mentioned above and we will be able to relieve some of the tension in our hectic lives.

On the other hand, I would argue that people who choose to live alone experience numerous benefits from a freedom life. The first is that a solitary person may become more self-reliant and assertive than those residing with their family. For instance, a young adult who lives alone will need to learn how to cook, clean, self-care and especially manage his or her own budget, which are extremely valuable life skills, and this contributes to improved quality of life and starting a family later on. In addition, from an economic perspective, the demand for accommodation would considerably increase, which leads to a plethora of positive impacts on the construction industry, estate agents and eventually prospering the nation as a whole.

In summary, while there are some drawbacks to the rise in one-person households, I personally believe that this growing trend is far more beneficial.