In some countries, only few young people go to classical music concerts or play classical music. Why? Should young people be encourage to attend and learn more?

In many parts of the world, there is a common trend that the young show their lackadaisical attitude towards classical music. Even though this tendency can be argued for some reasons, young people should still expose themselves to this music genre.

The young tend to become less enthusiastic about partaking in classical music shows or playing this music type due to two main reasons. Firstly, they may find it complicated to fully enjoy classical music. Indeed, most publicly known classical performances are likely to be delivered way by prodigious talents, such as Bach, Mozart, who tend to convey some implications and sophistication through their work. Hence, young people may perceive that this genre requires a specific amount of musical knowledge as well as the understanding of composers. Furthermore, classical music having no clear lyrics commonly seen in other types can make listeners more confused about its content. Secondly, classical music concert tickets are often sold at high prices. In my country, such music shows tend to be targeted at high-income audiences since these are often held in a high-class venue and featured with renowned orchestras. Consequently, the prices of entry tickets do not seem pocket-friendly to the young, who may have circumscribed incomes or prefer a more affordable leisure pursuit, such as movies or an acoustic music show. Generally, the elusive concepts of classical music and lack of affordability may be hurdles for young people to experience such a music kind.

However, exposure to classical music can be beneficial to listeners; therefore, the young should enjoy and learn more about it. The first benefit is that classical music can nurture people’s state of mind. In fact, most pieces of this music genre seem to sound soothing and mellifluous, which can provide its audiences with a sense of relief. Simultaneously, it is scientifically reported that classical music can boost human creativity, thanks to its lyricless form, listeners can draw up their own imaginary scenarios that can couple with a certain music piece. What’s more, is that the young who tend to pursue their careers in the music industry can leverage classical music to sharpen their knowledge breadth, and taste. In fact, classical music dates back to the eleventh century and has a relation with most modern-day music genres. Thus, no matter which music types these young people may opt for, would-be musicians can certainly adapt parts of classical music into their works. Young people should get more exposed to classical music due to mentality and knowledge-related benefits.

In conclusion, it is believed by many that classical music seems to have lost its glories among the young whose interest in it tends to be reduced by some reasons. I believe that they should seize every opportunity to experience classical music.