Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

In a globalized world, it is common practice for countries to purchase food from other regions. From my viewpoint, I believe while this tendency is beneficial to a certain extent, it results in more negative effects.

On the one hand, food imports can lead to several benefits. From the consumers’ perspective, imported food can diversify their range of choices other than locally sourced items. Furthermore, buyers can get access to high-grade products from exporters located in developed countries. These manufacturers seem to be equipped with cutting-edge production lines, ensuring the superior quality of outputs. On a macroeconomic level, imports can allow countries to maintain the provision of particular food types for their citizens. In fact, there seems no longer homesteading nation, instead, every country has a certain level of dependence on others. For instance, while Vietnam has been considered one of the world’s largest rice exporters, the country has to purchase tons of dairy products from Australia, New Zealand to satisfy its domestic demand.

On the other hand, importing food can lead to some downsides. Firstly, not all residents can gain benefits from such items. Indeed, due to plenty of additional charges levied on imported products, such as shipping freight, customs duties and other logistical fees, their prices are often beyond most buyers’ means. Hence, these products can solely serve a specific segment of consumers. Another demerit worth mentioning is that importers would descend into unexpected food scarcity if they were heavily reliant on their overseas providers. In case exporters are subject to unpredictable events, such as climatic extremes or infectious diseases , all quantities of goods for exports would be cut off suddenly, which could leave their importing partners struggling to deal with potential food crises.

In conclusion, a nation can capitalize on importing food from others for the sake of its residents. However, It is my firm conviction that not every country-dweller can reap benefits from it and excessive reliance on foreign sellers may force an importing country into food insecurity.