Today, TV channels provide men’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

These days, it is common that more male athletes’ programs are broadcasted on TV than those of female players. This essay will mention several reasons for this tendency and justifications that sport shows should include more female athletes’ presence.

There are certain causes of the more popularity of men’s sports programs on TV. The major reason is that men seem to dominate the sports world. Indeed, most prevalent sports, such as football and basketball, are physically demanding. Thus, male athletes tend to outperform their female counterparts due to the fact that most males are biologically stronger than people of the opposite gender. Another convincing justification is that sports TV shows tend to be profit-oriented. In other words, producers seem to put a spotlight on programs that can expect the high viewership. In fact, audiences are more likely to enjoy sports with much competition and intensity that can be satisfied by male athletes’ aggressive way of performance, for instance, in playing boxing or racing.

However, programs featuring women doing sports should receive the same duration of broadcast time with men’s shows. Firstly, female athletes can be as outstanding as male players. Despite male dominance in competitive sports culture, women can excel in specific types of sports, for example ballet, yoga, aerobics, which may require a great deal of flexibility and patience. Another compelling reason is that introducing more women’s sports shows on TV can pave the way for gender equality. Indeed, female players might have been subject to rigors of training to scale the heights of their sports profession. Thus, they should deserve the equal level of merits as men do. In the long run, bridging the gender disparity in the sports world can create knock-on effects that the general public would recognize women based on their achievements in other aspects of life.

In conclusion, male-dominated sports shows can be attributed to their superior physical strength and public preference. However, such programs should feature more female athletes since they with their abilities and diligence can deserve recognition and gender equality.