Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that oral communication holds more power than information exchanged in writing. From my viewpoint, even though verbal communication exerts certain benefits, communicating by writing serves a greater role.

It is true that speaking-based communication can bring in several advantages. Firstly, this method of delivering information can allow people convenience. In fact, through verbal communication, people can convey a great deal of information in a short period of time. Additionally, they can partake in a conversation with basic means needed, for instance phones. Another benefit worth mentioning is that oral communication seem to facilitate better mutual understanding. Indeed, participants engaging in a face-to-face conversation are likely to stay aware of nuances hidden in their partners’ voice tones, facial expressions and body language. Hence, they can interpret implicit meaning or emotions in what others say in order to devise sensible responses.

However, there are several justifications that support my viewpoint. The major benefit of this avenue of communication is that it can ensure information records, compared to the speaking channel that can leave certain significant information neglected. This means that by communication through writing, for instance emails or paper letters, information can be revised and retrieved with ease. Another remarkable advantage is that writing can ensure legal validity under certain circumstances. For instance, the effectiveness of writing-based communication can be emphasized in the business world. Particularly, most contractual information related to finances or stakeholders’ rights, obligations is required to be stored in the form of legal documents with the aim of ensuring its legal force, while spoken footprints cannot be legitimate when it comes to settling disputes.

In conclusion, communication in the form of speaking can be convenient and improve mutual interpretation. However, my firm conviction is that written communication can be more significant owing to its pivotal role in recording information and guaranteeing legal effect.