In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is considered very important. Why might this be the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Accommodation has become the prioritized choice for people before residing in a place. Meanwhile, citizens of some nations find it pivotal to possess their own house in lieu of living in a rental one. Although this situation brings about some financial and environmental problems to people, I still believe that it is a positive trend due to the sense of ease and comfort that it serves.

The tendency to own a house can be taken into consideration as a noticeable problem. This preference can cause people to be heavily in debt thanks to them allocating all their funds and even borrowing a huge amount of budget from the banks to purchase or construct a new house. In addition, if individuals are inclined to have their new house constructed, more and more trees will be cut down and the area of land and forests will be minimized, leading to the lack of accommodation of a variety of animals and plants. Seen in this light, this situation somewhat has a detrimental impact on people’s lives.

Nevertheless, the advantages that owning a private living place provides convincingly makes it no more a negative circumstance. Spending time in their own house is apparently more comfortable than in a place that does not belong to their ownership as people can freely work or do physical activities without any hesitation because of fear of damaging the walls or the grounds. Furthermore, unless people have a private house, they cannot decorate their house the way they desire to, which makes the living environment become dull and tedious. For instance, there are many people reported to pay the cost for the master of the house they rent since they damage the place while playing with their children or doing aerobics. Therefore, it is more convenient for people to own a home.

In conclusion, albeit some problems of finance and environment that the situation of owning a home causes, I hold a firm belief that it is an acceptable circumstance due to the aforementioned reasons.