In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is considered very important. Why might this be the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Some people think that having a house on their own is better than renting one. There are many reasons for this school of thought and personally, I believe that whether this is a positive or negative trend depends on certain circumstances.

People consider owning a house is much more important than renting one because a house can show their wealth and status in society. It is clear that buying a house require a huge amount of money, especially in metropolises. A self-owned house also presents the characteristic of a person, which is expressed through the color of the wall, the way the owner arranges the furniture... In addition, people owning a house can feel more comfortable as they have not to worry about the landlord nor do they have to pay a monthly rent.

All in all, I think that owning a house could be both positive and negative trend when it is considered in different contexts. For people who have good financial potential, owning a house would be a best choice for them as it could be an asset for further investment. Besides that, if people set owning a house as a goal, it will motivate them to work hard and save money, which keeping them energizing every day to achieve goal. However, for those who do not have enough finance, stocking up on a house could make them end up piling up debt and pay a huge amount of interest monthly.

To sum up, people have many reasons to own a house and it would be an upward trend if everyone know how to control their finance and find a suitable way to enjoy life.