In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case. Do you think this is a positive or negative situation.

In this money-driven world, people tend to judge others by their material possessions. Because of that, owning a house is considered to be a neccesary approach that prove their stability, wealth and success. However, in my opinion, whether it is a positive or negative situation depends on several underlying factors.

To begin with, having a residence allows people to have an independent life. The key ractionale is that people can live their life without any restrictions of the landlord. For example, they have the autonomy of modifying their own house with no fear of violating the renting contract for damaging the walls, making it the cozy place that they can feel a sense of security and familiarity when going home. Moreover, not only is house a place to reside, it represents the owner's social status. The size of the house is proportional with people's wealth. Inherently, it acts as an indicator of success, therefore, it is largely justifiable why people in our society place significant importance on possessing a residence.

However, whether owning a house is a positive situation still maintains controversy as it is due to each individual's circumstance. If people fully had financial capability to afford a residence as well as different types of fee and bill that come along with it, owing a house would definitely be a pleasant situation. On the contrary, if some middle class families bought big house which is often out of their budget with a view to meeting the social standard, it seems to be an unpleasant approach. They fund this by taking out huge loans and end up repaying the amount over a period of time when the interest has already increased exponentially. In addition to this, they also have to pay property taxes and insurance, not to mention the maintanance costs and other daily expenses.

In conclusion, although having a house as a personal asset is of great importance but it is not an infallible element to lead a pleasant life. Only when buying a house within a budget is that a positive situation. Otherwise, it could turn into a negative situation when the loan people get is beyond their repaying capacity.