In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is considered essential and preferred in few countries to have your own house as compared with renting the house. There are multiple reasons for this trend and the most usual reason is high rents. I personally believe that the trend of owning a house is compartively more beneficial.

Every trend has a reason or objective and same is the case here as well. Most common reason that encourages people to have their own house is high rents as compared to their income. Secondly, there are many opportunities available to own your house on easy installements. For example, in Australia, it is quite easy to have a loan from bank for your own house and it can be paid back in installments. Similarly, there are many organizations or coorporations offering building a house for you with a small initial amount and rest of the capital can be paid in installments. They do charge a service fee of additional charges for this service, however, this is very much worth it. After having these opportunities to avoid high rents, it is very obvious that masses will prefer to own the house instead of renting it.

Although, this situation of owning the house as a preference is usually positive but it can have limited negative impacts as well. For instance, if the owner of a house is required to relocate then it can be troublesome to sell the house and buy a new one at the new place. Renting the house is fast as compared to owning a house. However, in most of the conditions, it should be incouraged to have own house as this brings sense of security and safety in the residents.

Concluding the above discussion, I would say that owning a house in more popular than renting in some regions of the world. It is usually the case in the countries where buying opportunities are supported by installmet option. Overall, it brings positive impact on social well being of the people in that region and it should be facilitated and promoted.