In some countries, people are forced to retire when they reach a certain age. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

These days, in some countries the older people are compulsory to retire when they reach 60 years old, which brings some benefits for them. However, beside some advantages, it also has somes disadvantages to individuals and society.

There are some pros in that people have to retire in a forced way. Firstly, when the older people are retired, they might spend much time on family and themselves. They concerntrated on their work in a long time and forgot their beloved people, so they will become to care for family and children in retiring time. They can also enjoy their life and do something they like. Secondly, retiring helps elderly people conserve their health because they do not need to be exhausted on work. They have enough time to sleep and do exercise regularly, not being stress and feel comfortable. The most important advantage is that young people have opportunities to promote and replace the position of the older people. Adults are able to improve and develop new things, which helps society more advanced.

However, beside some advantages it also carries some disadvantages for society. Firstly, the older people usually have much more experience and knowlegde than young people. Their ideas might contribute for society many great achievements, whereas they are forced to retire, which will be a serious wasting . They are still enough enthusiastic to continuously work, but they are compulsory to retire, which may be unfair. Moreover, in many works have not enough the number of employees, and the older people have to retire. This leads to some negative effects on society.

In conclusion, the older people are required to retire, which brings both advantages and disadvantages. Depending on countries, situations, government should have some appropriate policies to avoid negative impacts.