Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case

Do you agree or disagree?

To a certain extent I agree that a jury should have past criminal records to have many information. However, I also think that this thing will be unfair to accused person.

On the one hand, a jury should be allowed to access past criminal records because of some reasons. Firstly, they need to have enough information about the crimes. For example, they should know about criminal cases. Specifically, when the case happens, purposes of the criminal, relationship between the criminal and victims; therefore, a jury can understand characteristics as well as psychology of the crime. The jury can consider between past and current, then detect and give a appropriate conclusion. Moreover, this pratice can help to limit the number of criminals committing same rule many times, because if a jury does not have enough information, they can be cheated easily by kind appearance of criminal.

On the other hand, if a jury know more information but he does not have strongly deductive ability, he will make mistakes easily. Mainly because, he will be strongly affected by some things in the past and might omit important things in a current case. This leads to be unfair to accused person. They committed in the past but this does not mean they will continuously commit. We should consider them equally as well as give opportunities if they regretted and corrected their mistakes.

For the aforementioned reasons, I personally believed that a jury should be allowed to know past criminal record. However, they should consider carefullyand give appropriate judgements.