Some countries spend a lot of money to make bucycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best soulution to traffic congestion?

Some countries invest a great measure of financial resources in making bicycle usage more accessible. The main aim of this investment is to reduce the use of private cars in order to prevent air pollution and traffic. However, I believe that there are more effective ways to tackle traffic density and the best way is by improving public transportation.

The amount of private cars' owners has been increasing dramatically over the past years. More cars results in higher pollution levels and terrible traffic. As a result, governments are making a tremendous efforts to reduce vehicles usage, including the improvement of bicycle roads. For example, Tel Aviv is one of the most crowded cities in Israel. The city council has motivated the public to use bicycles by building adequate infrastructures as well as spreading public bicycles stands all around the city. Due to these efforts many people have started to use bicycles as their main mean of transport inside the city.

However, bicycles can not replace engine vehicles completely since they are not suitable for long distance travels and they are also significantly slower. Therefore, even if we had the ultimate conditions for bicycle use, many people would still prefer their cars. The only way to fight traffic congestion is by improving public transportation. For example, I work in Tel Aviv but live outside the city. I can not use bicycle for such a long ride but I would use the bus or train if they were more reliable and efficient.

In conclusion, in order to motivate people to reduce their use of private cars, governments spend a lot of money to improve bicycle accessibility. From my perspective, the best way to decrease traffics is by invest in making public transportation more reliable and fast.