In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantages of this overweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that children should be taught at home by parents, while others believe that schools help in the development of a child. In my opinion, I believe that although there are some benefits of educating kids at home, sending them to school is more beneficial.

A growing body of research suggests that children who are educated in school have overall better development as compared to homeschooling. One key benefit is that they learn to be more disciplined in the formative years. This can lead to a disciplined life in the future. For instance, the kids follow a regular routine and timetable while going to school, thus learn managing time early in life. Additionally, they learn to interact with the kids, teachers and school staff. This often leads to better social interaction in adulthood. For example one year back my little niece used to be very shy and avoided interaction with family and friends, but she has become social and friendly after joining the preschool.

On the other hand, there is recent evidence that schooling can have a negative impact as well. Most of the schools often lack interpersonal communication. As every child has his/ her own strengths and weakness, it is impossible for a teacher to cater to the need of every single child. This can lead to a difference in performance and overall development among students in a class. For example, some kids are good at maths so they need less assistance, while some are not who may need additional help.

In conclusion, while learning at school may lack interpersonal relationships and specific attention, they help in the overall development of a child. In my opinion, despite some negative effects, I believe schools are generally beneficial.