In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantages of this overweigh the disadvantages?

Various countries witness a progress in the number of guardians who determine homeschooling as an educational method rather than public school. Personal judging, the advantages may fail to outweigh the disadvantages because public schools still acknowledge as official channels by committee for education.

Firstly, talking about the advantages, home-schooling would provide more suitable course to equip each student. On the one hand, there are some families who still live in isolated areas with poor transport and limit in finance so that it is difficult for children to approach a normal school like their peers. In Vietnam, most of ethnic minority people stay in the mountainous areas that are hard to reach and making the ways to school more dangerous. On the other hand, several parents are not satisfied with local schools by various reasons and start consider studying at home as an alternative way because parents are the one who know best about their children. Therefore, they can design lessons for each child to cater their need. Moreover, one-to-one lessons allow much faster progress.

Talking about the disadvantages, not many parents could own good teaching skills. Not to mention, children who never study at school with friends will suffer from social under-development. First of all, due to the nature of their jobs, the teaching certificates are required as obligation, means that all teachers are qualified for delivering the knowledge while parents may lack of that pedagogy skills. Furthermore, home-schooled children may lack social skills compared with those children who receive lessons at normal schools. At school, students usually communicate with their friends and teachers or take part in some of the extra activities so that they could be more active. Consequently, official schools could provide a professional as well as supporting environment that help children to escalate their knowledge, cognitive development, emotional interacting and so on.

To conclude, the benefits exits to some extent, but the drawbacks have a higher chance of being dominant. However, as guardians, parents could expect to have thoughtful decisions about their children learning methods.