In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Today young people who just graduated high school could decide to continue learning in university or have a one-year break for travelling or working before getting back to school. Each decision itself has pros and cons. To me, I prefer the first choice, continue studying university right after finishing high school program. And the following reasons strengthen my decision.

First of all, I don’t deny the advantages that taking a break might offer to teenagers. By travelling, they can have a great time for relaxing after stressful years in high school, meeting many kinds of people, getting familiar to many cultures around the world and more importance is that it’s a good way to experience about independent life. Instead of travelling, others leverage this break for working to prepare enough financial for the university journey and to improve the communication skill outside the school. However, going together with these advantages, also there are many potential risks that the young people may be facing with when they return to the school after finishing their break or work such as becoming lazy, no mood for learning, increasing the demand for enjoyment or being attracted by the money from work. These would become difficulties for young people to re-adapt the academic environment and even escalate to ultimate consequence that they will get lost, being out of the track or never study the university. Some may argue that if student don’t go to work for one year how they can prepare enough money for university. But I think that today there are many ways to overcome this difficult like working part-time during learn or getting a loan from your parents or government.

Finally, from my view, it’s better to continue learning university after finishing high school program because at that time, the knowledge is still being fresh, easy for getting more. If keeping it for a long time without using, it might be getting blur and it’s too difficult for young people to refresh it.