In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is now a common trend that senior high school students decided to take a gap year for traveling or working before entrant university. Despite the merits this new approach to the life of young adults might bring, it still has some specific hidden demerits, which are going to be discussed in this essay.

There are undeniable benefits gap year students may achieve. First and foremost, as the majority of secondary education lessons are theoretically based, straight high school graduates would be poorly equipped for the upcoming independent life. As they take a break from school lectures, students are able to have a broad insight into what a grown-up sight likes. Another advantage is that when traveling around or trying few different jobs before applying to universities, youngsters are able to mature, which leads to wiser decisions regards which majors are the most suitable for them, and bar overwhelms impressions on the challenges tertiary education might bring.

Looking from the opposite view of point, taking a break from a constant education line might cause a fragment between each which students can hardly mend them back after a specific amount of time. This means that in some cases, the distraction away from schoolwork caused by a long period of non-academic jobs, young adults might not able to return to the past lifestyle anymore. For further explanations, there were students that after a year or two, had long bonded with this living frequency, decided that they need no further education as they can sufficiently self provide this way. In which case, gap years would eventually act as a barrier to the university curriculum.

In conclusion, although break years between high schools and college could be a tremendous push for future undergraduates, it could also act adversely and distract students from the higher study. Nevertheless, I believe it is young people’s choice to pick up which is the most appropriate approach to adult life, and either means which they made is individually reasonable, therefore gap years can be deduced as a wise choice for any education participants.