In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Within the recent few decades, humanity has witnessed tremendous modifications involving living philosophy and human rights, which has also brought to an alternative family model. This essay will discuss such changes as well as evaluate its role in bettering a family.

The aforementioned change that could be witnessed in the new housing structure is the family size. As time past, relatives groups had decreased from broad, massive extended families with multiple generations living under the shared roof to a more remarkable smaller size, typically nuclear families with 4-5 members. The population within a house has also changed, that is parents are more and more inclined to having only 1 or 2 children, as compared with 5-6 children in the former eras. Another major transformation is that nowadays, women have gained equal rights and significance as men used to have, whereas the inferiority is true for the female’s roles few decades ago.

I believe all of these transitions in the family complex are advancements. First and foremost, as family capacity reduced, parents’ responsibilities reduce, and they would meet the higher likelihood of providing their children with a better living environment. Following this, the alternative in family functions has successfully verified the importance of the maternal position as well as the sense of gender equality. Women are now given the equivalent power as men; they have the rights to be the family’s breadwinner and the financial managing authority, whereas men now can pursue their desire occupations despite former social prejudice on the husbands’ appearance of “dominance” and “masculinity”, such as homemaking. All these improvements could be considered as a progress towards a more humane community.

In conclusion, there has been numerous positive changes toward the base of building families, generally in the size and the equal roles of wives and husbands and I believe this progression will subsequences in the ultimate utopian model of family.