There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Over the last few decades, there has been an increasing number of students enquiring for universities, and although it could be seen as progress for education, it is also a concern of many people that it might cause negative impacts on the general standard of education. Both the merits and demerits of this trend will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, it is generally believed that the more educated people the better the society. This is an indisputable fact, for today's modern society depends heavily on knowledge to develop. Many careers such as scientists or lawyers that are high-paid and account for most of the achievements humanity has made until today demand a tertial education base, as extensive information that is necessary for there jobs cannot just be acquired through elementary schools or life experiences. For instance, to be able to be a doctor, one has to study roughly 6 years for a Ph.D. degree, much less many research and internships before they are sufficiently qualified for the job. In other words, it is undeniable that university education is beneficial for the community.

On the other hand, the vital role of higher education subsequence to higher demand in graduate education may result in several repulsive issues. One possible problem is that as classes' population grows, the attention each student receives from their teachers or mentors may be decreased. Teachers would have to teach to the vast demand, causing some individuals to be left behind. Another issue is that some could take advantage of this need to make profits, and gradually, they would care for how much money they earn from the lectures rather than the quality of the lecture, therefore leads to the degrading of education.

In conclusion, it is no doubt that higher education, typically university, does a major part in developing the society, however, many inevitable problems might occur through the growth of student numbers at universities.