In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

It is quite common these days for young people in many countries to have a break from studying after graduating from high school. The trend is not restricted to rich students who have the money to travel, but is also evident among poorer students who choose to work and become economically independent for a period of time.

On the one hand, the reasons for this trend may involve various favour which can be resulted in. firstly, poor youngsters who decide to look for a job can get an opportunity to earn money for their saving. That saving can be beneficial to fund their tuition fees at higher educational level. Secondly, a young generation who travels to another area or even country will have a broader view of life and better personality. This can be a real merit to cope with the challenges of student’s life. Endergoing that, thus, is pondered as a favour for them in which they can reap some benefits.

On the other hand, there are certainly pitfalls in taking time off at that age. Young adults may end up never returning to their studies or finding it difficult to readapt to an academic environment. They may assume it is better to continue in a particular job, or to do something completely different from a university course. However overall, this is less likely today, when a set of academic qualifications are essential for getting a reasonable career. Hence, taking a gap year for working or travelling is still favourable.

In conclusion, conducting that kind of activities is highly recommended due to the benefits outweight the drawbacks.