In many countries, most youngsters are inspired to take an year off, to work or travel before attending university courses. This tendency, also called “gap year”, has both benefits and drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay.

Spending a year for jobs or journeys would fairly be beneficial. First, taking a gap year should furnish students opportunities to discover their career interest. Given that taking an appropriate occupation would indubitably be a prevalent intention for most people subsequent to the laborious study path, individuals should realize their profession potential in order to develop, without difficultly, the career in the future. Additionally, deferring a year before embarking on the formal university education would give students a chance to socialize, engage in volunteering, and understand global issues and global culture. These positive opportunities would moderately enlarge students’ competence and interrelationships which could support them in the long term. For example, my friend, Suzy, who took a gap year to explore the word and volunteer her services for relief work; thanks to this year, she actually made a great amount of high-quality relationships which have reinforced her career greatly.

Moreover, besides advantages, the break of a year taken before pursuing university studies would bring out students some negative influences. Primarily, gap year, occasionally, is so relaxing and enjoyable that students could renounce further studies. The present essay draws on the word of psychologist Wendy, whose supposition is that comforting and entertaining for a long time should decrease people’s motivation in learning, this lessening could urge students to ignore their studies permanently. Furthermore, considering that spending one year out of studying means that students could waste the precious acquiring knowledge time, this would surely interrupt learning process. Consequently, students could slip out their studying route, hence, their accomplishment could lessen. For instance, my brother, who decided to spend a year to travel and explore the world before attending university education, disavowed his college itinerary everlastingly given his immersing in relaxing.

In conclusion, the trend called “gap year” have both cons and pros, thereby, people should consider carefully before making a decision of this.