In some countries young people are enouraged to work or travel for a year between finishinf highschool and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantage and disadvantage for young people who decide to do this.

Although some people believe that a gap year between secondary school and university is beneficial, others think that this educational delay could be detrimental on the long run. Travelling and work provides young adults with a multi-dimensional learning experiance and enables them to discover their career interests, but this educational gap has some drawbacks to be taken into account.

A gap year after high school can be advantageous in multiple ways, especially if one decides to acquire work experience. One benefit of getting a job is, that it helps the individual learn about the employer and employee relationship. These interactions not only enhance communication skills, but also help develop other interpersonal skills. Moreover, children learn how to maintain a work life balance. For instance, students doing summer internships learn to balance their work along with other activities in their vacations. Alternatively, many youngsters choose to travel around the world before they begin their university education. This enables them to learn about career prospects abroad and discover themselves as independent individuals. Exploring and discovering their capabilities before beginning a degree education enables students to make better decisions about their career choices and molds them into responsible adults.

One problem with an educational break is the lag of a year on one's CV. Employers prefer hiring individuals with good grades and minimum educational gaps, a voluntary break may give the wrong impression of lack of one's interest in education. Another issue may arise with youngsters earning money at a young age, this makes them lose motivation to study further as a consequence of which a large number of youngsters may end up with out a graduate degree. Moreover, those who choose to travel are vulnerable to fall victim to criminal activities and can be easily convinced for crimes such as, drug trafficking and are hence under a constant security threat.

In conclusion, an educational gap year between school and university may be a fruitful learning experience for some, but it does carry a simultaneous security risks to one's life and future.