Young generation nowadays knows more about pop celebrities as compared to important figures of history.

why is this?

what can be done to make young people learn more about their past?

A large proportion of youngsters keenly follows celebrities on the mainstream media and is less interested in important historical figures. This situation is a result of increased exposure to media and short comings of the education system. There are a number of effective steps that can be taken to divert young minds into learning about their past.

One major problem that accounts for the celebrity influence on young minds is the excessive interaction children have with the entertainment industry from a very young age. Parents often prefer letting children watch television for hours, this ensures that children remain busy and don't disturb them. As a result of this common upbringing method we often witness toddlers imitating cartoon characters that they frequently watch, this liking frequently develops into obsession and is portrayed by children wanting their entire surrounding pasted with pictures of their favorite character. In addition to being a strong influence tv watching is ought to develop into an addictive habit and young adults often confess of binge watching shows overnight. Moreover, schools play a significant role in developing a child's interests The current education system focusses more on science and related subjects rather than history and philosophy, even if history is taught at school it is not made interesting and often referred to as a dry subject by most students. The idea of history not being as important as other subjects influences the young minds and they ultimately resort to not taking any interest in the subject on the long run.

There are a number of measures that can be implemented to effectivelt alter the dynamics of children's thought process. One effective solution is improving the history teaching methods. this could include school visits at cultural emneties such as museums and theaters where children can benefit from a wholesome learning experience. in additiuon tp making the learning process fun, we can counsel parents to avoid early exposure to t.v shows and other sources of media and encourage them to read history books to their children from an early age. This would develop a appositive reading habit and consequently influence the young minds to learn more about the people they frequently read.

In conclusion, making history an interesting subject to learn and altering the conventional brought up methods can effectively make youngsters more inquisitive about their past.