As countries develop, people tend to buy more and more cars. Do you thing the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

The automobile purchase has unarguably gone up in most developing countries. In my opinion, personal transport brings about more problems for the environment in comparision to any individual benefits it might bring.

Admittedly, there are some basic benefits for the individual who own their own car. Firstly, a personal car insures transport convinience. That is to say, it reduces one's reliance on both public and shared transports, this provides the individual with the ability to reach work, on time. Not only does personal transport help one's punctuality, but also improves work quality. Since the travel time greatly reduces employees tend to be more efficient and less lazy at work, consequently being more productive for thr employer and the country in the long run. Personal benefits of owning a car extend to individuals of all age groups,take for instance, high school students who usually require travelling between school and their part time jobs. This was initially a very time taking task, but with development and affordability most students now have a personal car, even if its second hand. This has insured that students are able to apply themselves more effectively and fulfill their financial and academic responsibilities easily.

nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe having more personal cars can lead to extremely detrimental side effects on the environment. One potentially serious problem, that the increasing number of cars has brought is the cumulative green house effect. As a result of rapidly increasing fuel consumption and the consequent carbon dioxide, global warming is at a rise. Resulting in the melting of ice caps, consequently increasing volume at the river banks, thus resulting in water logging of adjacent agricultural land. This is coupled with flooding as a result of increased rains and climate change all over the world. Another obvious issue, are the health hazards that come along with the increased amount of car exhaust gases. Recent researches have quoted, that the millennials suffer from chronic chest infections more often than their ancestors, as an outcome of their increased daily exposure to harmful gases. These facts validate all environmental concern that comes along with the increasing number of personal transports all over the world.

To reiterate, I believe side effects like loosing our ecosystem and health of our future generation far outweigh any individual benefits that personal transport might bring.