In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In the contemporary society, children are encouraged to work harder in various ways one of which is by saying success comes to those who work hard. While there are some benefits to the advice, the drawbacks are not worth ignoring either and both sides will be discussed in the following essay.

To begin with, there are a few advantages of this advice. The youngsters will be inspired and motivated to work harder to achieve their goals. The sense of achievement will push them to explore and learn more. For example, when a student works hard and gets their desired result, they attain a sense of satisfaction and feel revigorated to pursue higher goals.

However, there are several disadvantages to this as well. If the children fail at a task for which they have provided their best effort, they tend to go into depression. As for those who become addicted to scoring achievements may become self-centered and in the face of possible failures may employ unethical means to protect their efforts from being hampered by others. For instance, a student who has practiced soccer to become the best, when encounters another who is a natural genius may try to harm them via dangerous means, so that the formers status is unaffected.

To sum up, children should not only be advised to work harder and be supported when they fail. Apart from these they should be guided on the right and wrong means of achieving this success.