Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a constant debate on whether guardians should encourage children to take part in activities that involve teamwork or let the latter decide what to do in their free time. I strongly believe children should be inspired to work in various group activities.

Children should be guided and motivated to become more involved in group activities as this will enhance the interaction skills such as discuss, debate and empathy. They will also learn how to co-ordinate and work in a team and become involved in activities that may help develop them physically as well. For example, children playing cricket will require them to plan, prepare strategies, be active and spontaneous. In a scientific research, it has been proven the children who are actively involved in organised group activities tend to retain more information.

However, some parents believe children should be given the freedom to select activities on their own. While this may allow children to become creative and pursue the task or activities do like the most, certain children tends to be involved with gadgets like mobile phones and video games in which they aren't compelled to do any manual tasks or human interactions. Therefore, their development both mentally and physically is not as much as those involved in group activities. Furthermore, this may cause problems like depression and anxiety, while the children involved in various activities can easily deal with them without much trouble.

From the above, it is clear while children should be granted the freedom to determine their choice of activities, opportunity to work as a team in a group will gain more beneficial effects.