In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

it is true that children should be inculcated in motivational incentives by their foregoers. In certain nations, adolescents are generally told that if they do everything in earnest, they will definitely be able to carry out their goals. While this message has some indeed upside, I believe it pales in comparison with the downside.

it is unequivocal that children will easily reach their target if they apply themselves at the highest level. First, this positive lesson encourages kids to put effort towards their ambition, which is a precursor to not only their great academic performance but also their successful career path in the future. Second, when a juvenile has a belief, he tends to be more confident in what he does because he trusts he will reach his ultimate goal someday.

On the other hand, the drawback from this message can be seen clearly. There is a complex interplay between talent, effort, and luck required to produce great achievements and all high-achievers are subject to determining factors beyond simply hard work. hard work is an essential ingredient but supposing it guarantees success will only lead to resentment towards oneself and others. Since children are vulnerable, they may have a pessimistic view after failure by setting unrealistic goals such as being a billionaire like Bill Gates without pursuing higher education. Teaching kids with lofty expectations sets them up for self-doubt, disillusionment, and delusions of grandeur that will weigh on them throughout adulthood. Besides, they also can easily lose momentum easily, finding it hard to achieve what they want after a long time being struggled and exhausted.

In conclusion, I would contend that despite the merits, it is imperative for parents to encourage their kids with a positive mindset with impractical prospects.