In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There are some traditions that introduce children to the idea of trying hard enough can make it possible for them to achieve anything. This message can be seen as a motivation for children to work hard and a reminder to not be afraid of dreaming big. On the other hand, it can cause children to see a failure entirely as their fault and are not able to accept it.

The first benefit of telling children this concept is the motivation gained to work hard in order to achieve their goals. It is not easy to be consistent and strive to reach a certain aim. Especially for children, they have potential and intent to do a lot of things, but oftentimes don’t try hard because of many distractions and dallies. Therefore, saying that trying hard enough enables them to get a promising result may boost their passion to do their best.

Adding to that, this idea allows children to know that it is possible to dream as high as the sky despite any less supporting circumstances. Not all of them were born in a prosperous family. There are children whose families are not even able to provide food, let alone education and other facilities. Social or political boundaries can also be a challenge. All of this reduces children’s confidence that they can reach a certain goal that seems so far away. This concept, however, restores their belief that nothing is impossible as long as they try hard enough.

Nevertheless, there are some disadvantages to this mindset. Children will put all the blame on themselves when they fail. This happens because they think they didn't try hard enough whereas in reality, they have put maximum efforts. In fact, there are other factors that determine a success, trying hard is just one of them. In other words, failure doesn't always happen because they didn't try hard, it can be because of a certain condition such as health, environment, etc.

In addition, there might be children who are not able to accept failure. This happens due to the idea that they have tried hard, so they expected a success instead of a failure. Similar to the previous discussion, children should be able to accept that trying hard doesn't always mean they will make it, and it is not the only thing someone needs to do to achieve something. There may be some cases that no matter how much work they have put, the circumstances, opportunities, time, and other factors don't allow them to achieve their goals.

In summary, the way children interpret this message is crucial. It brings advantages if the children see it in a way to encourage themselves. In contrast, it comes with disadvantages if the children see it as an absolute or the one and only indicator of achievements.