in some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving \\children this message.

The motivating phrase which is frequently listened by children is “work hard”. Almost all the older people use those words to trigger children if they want to acquire something. However, there are serious problems in psychology if kids listen that for a long time. However, I personally believe that the phrase, work hard, is crucial for children.

The message of work hard is able to build strong mentality for children when they grow up. It is because when they desire to get something, they make extra efforts and are hard to give up while finding obstacles. For example, a kid wants to be a police in the future. He will be serious in learning and solves a simple problem which makes him more likely to be successful person. When getting adult, he has been ready to experience many problems and try to find any solutions to fix the problems. Furthermore, the message can be used to entertain children when they get failed in schools so that the children’s mental state is still better.

Nevertheless, not all children are able to interpret the meaning of work hard well. Instead of searching the effective way to obtain something, they prefer to use their muscle or physical strength. The long-term impact is the children are unable to think creatively and critically. As a result, they do not know how to solve the problems and are easy to quit. Additionally, as getting failed, they just blame the conditions or other people, whereas they even do not make more efforts.

To sum up, motivating kids by saying try hard is beneficial in spite of the fact that there are drawbacks as well. To make it balance, children should be taught work hard without ignoring work smartly.