In some cultures, the old ages is more valued, while in some cultures the youth is more valued. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

There has been an increasingly growing interest in social welfare for the old in the recent years. While many people argue that the old play a pivotal role to the development of a nation, there still remain some disagreements as to whether the young are more valuable or not. Overall, it is my personal view that either the old or the young are of equal importance.

On the one hand, in Asia countries, people respect grandparents, older leaders, and bosses since the accumulated wisdom of older people can serve as a helpful guide for younger people. They bring experiential knowledge of just about every problem a human being can go through. People from their teens to middle age will find that the roadmap for life elders provide can help them take a new look at their own situations and to choose new ways of living that will make them happier.

On the other hand, thanks to enthusiasm, good education and health, the youth can bring a large number of benefits to the rapidly changing society. With their professional knowledge in diverse fields, the youth are without doubt essential to the innovation and growth of the economy of a nation. Take the case of Japan as a salient example, due to the aging population which causes to the shortage of workforce, they are facing ever low economic growth.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that both the old and the young exert positive impact on society. In the years to come, I do believe that proper policy should be adopted by the authorities so as to maintain a sustainable development for a nation.