Currently, numerous education systems have operated specialized learning programs for students at the age of 15. However, some people argue that students need to study a variety of subjects until leaving school. From my viewpoint, albeit offering certain benefits, an extensive curriculum is still inferior to a specialized one for high-school students

On the one hand, studying a wide range of subjects can be advantageous for older schoolchildren in some aspects. First and foremost, students can acquire extensive knowledge for comprehensive personal development. As they learn multiple subjects at school from mathematics, and physics to literature, and geography, their background knowledge will be broadened considerably. This will give them a multi-dimensional outlook on life and solve problems in numerous fields. For instance, in Vietnam, students aiming at engineering courses in university are only required to have good grades in Maths and Physics. However, the knowledge they have acquired in non-major classes like English or Computer Science can offer them a competitive edge when they apply for a job in a multinational company, compared to those unfamiliar with foreign languages or computers.

On the other hand, I concur that concentrating on a smaller range of subjects can bring more benefits to students from the age of 15. To begin with, studying only a subset of subjects at school provides students with greater motivation. Should students be allowed to choose the subjects they yearn for, they will put more dedication to studying, thus heightening their overall learning productivity in lieu of having to focus on other subjects they are not interested in. Furthermore, specializing in certain subjects since the age of 15 assists pupils to have a higher likelihood of success in their future jobs. In addition, students who study only a few subjects have more time for other purposes than those studying so many. With fewer subjects to learn, they have extra time either for stress relievers such as playing some sport or taking a rest or for further research related to their chosen subjects. Scientifically, these activities increase their study efficiency and academic performance, so such an education system is much better than that forcing students to learn various subjects.

In conclusion, although studying wide-ranging subjects can be favourable to students to some extent, students will derive more benefits from a specialized curriculum from the age of 15 regarding deeper study and relaxation. Nevertheless, this educational approach should be implemented in accordance with a tactful orientation program for students below this age so that the policy can bring the optimal outcome for all.