Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contributions to the company by giving them extra money. this practice can act as an incentive for some, but may also have a negative impact on others.

To what extent is this style of management effective?

Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Employer morale is an important part of operating business that every employee has to be aware of. In modern office, giving bonus in form of money for significant contributor has become a widely accepted strategy to ensure a positive working attitude. However, this approach may draw unwanted discontent from others. In order to verify this and finding an alternative method, further investigation will be conducted.

On the one hand, money bonus can be a great source of motivation. First of all, bonus improves job satisfaction which also serves as an effective way to keep crucial staff member in the organisation. Secondly, if there is no bonus for top performer, there will be no competition between employees which will only discourage staffs from surpassing their former self. At some point, company will be treading water and eventually will be outperformed by rival business.

On the other hand, extra money is not ideal especially in multidisciplinary company. It is easier to single out top contributor from sales department by simply looking at sale figures. This is not the case with other departments such as Research and Development department where contribution is not quantity hence immeasurable. The reward for this type of department is normally handed for the entire team. This will not allow company to target truly hard working and outstanding individual.

An alternate policy which can also boost morale is to improve employee's fame by awarding title of "employee of the month" and "employee of the year". This can be done through anonymous voting system or collecting feedback and rating from customers to ensure equality between staff. This type of policy is highly effective in hospitality and service industry.

In conclusion, the practice of rewarding to exceptional employee can brings more goods than harms. This is why this form of practice is exercised extensively in a variety of industries.