Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays.

Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Employers argue that they should be entitled to communicate with their employees anytime, including holiday breaks or vacation. From my point of view, the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages. While I comprehend the possibility that make contact with staff after work hours can bring evident benefits to the company, it can also bring undeniable withdrawal.

On the one hand, managers who are in charge of teams in which personnel are possible to be accessed after shift hours, have great potential to handle and solve minor issues before they turn to real problems. Therefore, the perception of quality is raised dramatically, thank to the fact that issues have been solved without delay. In addition, studies have proven that the efficiency and effectiveness of staff who are reachable all the time prevents unnecessary rework increasing companies’ profitability leading to outstanding success.

On the other hand, the likelihood of being contacted by supervisor out of work hours can trigger serious drawback primarily because this attitude conveys to the crew the idea that their private lives are less important than their professional lives. Moreover, to be able to demand employee’s support after closing time implies the idea managers are not suitable for such position, due to the fact that they don’t handle certain situations by their own reducing the company’s reliability.

In conclusion, notwithstanding there are benefits allowing employers to contact their crew anytime out of workday, I consider the advantages are eclipsed by the disadvantages. The acceptance to consume employees’ leisure time minimize the importance of their personal life also tarnish the superior reputation becoming counterproductive to company as a whole in long term.