Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

At present, the necessity of foreign language has become a controversial matter of school curriculum. Some consider that it should be taught from primary school, the benefits of which would be sufficiently superior in comparison with that of secondary school. In the following essay, both aspects will be examined before submitting personal opinion.

From one angle, there are some faults with this reasoning. First of all, starting learn the other languages at such early age seems to be rather challenging for young brain as the ones may still have struggles related to native language itself. As a consequence, children may find it hard the attendance to school. Secondly, the more strain should be given to fundamental basic school subjects such as math, mother tongue and literature. One reason for this is that there would be less time remaining if foreign language is added to school scheme. Thus, it would be great, as long as other languages are placed from secondary school.

From another angle, there is no doubt that infants are more capable in acquiring other languages much more easily without spending much efforts and facing difficulties. Since, the young brain is adopted to store certain information or knowledge in the memory smoothly. Therefore, the younger children start to be taught foreign language, the more effective the ones could acquire it. In addition, it is particularly significant that the most attention has been given to the international language which is crucially important to be educated in developing countries. This can be explained by innovated technologies, most of which are operated by using English.

Having investigated both aspects objectively, it appears to me that the priority of adding foreign language to primary school schedule is weigh more than that of secondary school.