Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many primary school students recently started learning a foreign language, particularly in non-native English-speaking countries. Some professions contend that it is beneficial for these children to do so whilst some object that. Hopefully, the positive effects of this trend can overdoes overdo its negatives for several reasons.

First of all, it is indisputably true that children, who are less self-conscious than adolescence, can easily acquire a foreign language by learning from mistake. Indeed, every learning process encounters mistakes, and teenagers who find it embarrassed making those errors, will properly stop performing themselves in front of class. This nonchalance, considered in long-term effects, will result in incompetent performance of students.

It is also note-worthy that the time spending in primary school is less stressful compared to those in secondary school, which therefore makes it acquirable for these students to achieve a target language. As the curriculum in primary school is easy to comprehend with basic knowledge, the students at this age therefore have more spare time acquiring another language. Additionally, students in some high schools begin to focus on their favorite subject which unfortunately not foreign language will pay less attention to this subject and, as a result, lead to bad acquisition of language.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that learning foreign language at the age of adolescence is more comprehensive for some students since they had already figured out methods to achieve languages as a subject at school. However, not all students can come up with their own studying methods at this early age, thus, leading to lack of preparation for foreign language acquisition.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position in agreement with the statement mentioned above that non-native language should be taught at primary school rather that secondary school as the sooner we start learning a subject, the better we achieve.