Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some language experts have suggest parents to encourage children learning a foreign language at primary school, they believe that it is the better timing for children to form a better language sense. From my perspective, I completely disagree with the statement and my reasons are below.

To begin with, spending time on learning a foreign language may cause unnecessary confusion to children. Children at that age are still learning their own mother tongue. If they have to learn another foreign language, they may feel stressful and confused. Consequently, they would not have better proficiency on both their own country’s language and foreign language. For example, my 10 years old cousin, Jenny, learn English since she was in elementary school. However, she always confuse which grammar rules are for Chinese or English Thus, it is obvious that bilingual education may cause unnecessary frustration,

Furthermore, it may let children resist on learning a foreign language. To explain it further, learning language should take a lot of effort on it, this will make children feel stressful and exhausted. Again, take my little cousin as example, as trying to increase her English ability, her teacher always give her a lot of homework and test. This make her refuse to concentrate on learning English. This may even influence children in the rest of their life, continuing avoid learning a foreign language.

By way of conclusion, learning foreign language at such early age will cause confusion and bad reaction to language. Thus, I once again reaffirm that I completely disagree with the given statement. I believe that learning at secondary school is much more suitable for pupils.